More Reasonable Hill Thinking on Net Neutrality

April 26, 2010

At the recent Senate Health IT hearing, it was very good to hear Senator Wyden say that it’s “appropriate for Congress… to start thinking… about an HOV lane for e-care for wireless broadband” and questioning why an emergency healthcare service should not be accorded priority transmission over less important/urgent services.

  • This is a much more realistic, reasonable, and nuanced point-of-view than Senator Wyden’s original net neutrality stance a few years ago when he said that: “all bits are created equal” on the Internet.

Senator Wyden’s moderating view on net neutrality reflects a better and growing understanding of how essential reasonable network management is. Communications networks have long accorded priority to first responders in a crisis.

The essential needs for prioritization of Internet traffic and reasonable network management are basically two-fold:

  • First, just like any computer must have a program that schedules or puts different processing tasks in a priority queue in order to function and function with quality and reliability, the Internet at large is like a computer that needs the capability to prioritize and put different traffic in a priority queue so that all parts of the Internet can function with quality and reliability.
    • Urgent-emergency traffic comes before non urgent, real-time voice before non-real time, more quality-sensitive services before less quality-sensitive services, etc.
  • Second, the more people think about the issue of net neutrality the more it becomes obvious that all bits/info are not equal, but that bits have a natural and reasonable hierarchy of priorities to them.
    • For more detail on this natural hierarchy concept please see my thought-provoking post:
      • A Maslow “Hierarchy of Internet Needs?” — Will there be Internet priorities or a priority-less Internet?”  

This post today is notable because it shows that, as people learn more, and better understand the reality of competing priorities and services on the Internet, there is naturally more recognition of the essential need for reasonable network management of the Internet’s very different component networks, in order to make the overall Internet work the way we all expect and need it to work.

  • The Internet does not just magically run itself, it requires purposeful, professional, adaptable, innovative, and reasonable network management.

At core, as Senator Wyden is recognizing, Congress, not the FCC, sets National priorities… and Congress does not mandate there be no priorities…

 
27 Responses to “More Reasonable Hill Thinking on Net Neutrality”

  1. Having read this I believed it was extremely informative.
    I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put
    this informative article together. I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and
    commenting. But so what, it was still worth it!

  2. Fantastic beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your website,
    how could i subscribe for a blog website? The account helped me
    a acceptable deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear concept

  3. It’s going to be end of mine day, but before finish I am reading this fantastic paragraph to increase
    my knowledge.

  4. The Nintendo Wii is climbing up to four controllers
    into their world of people are now joining in with others.

    Internet is not ideal for children, should any money be spent learning and thinking.
    He’s just letting you watch the character.

  5. Korey said

    I get pleasure from, cause I found exactly what I was having a look for.
    You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day.
    Bye

  6. Young said

    Thanks for a marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you can be a great author.
    I will be sure to bookmark your blog and may come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great writing, have
    a nice morning!

  7. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the page layout of your
    site? Its very well written; I love what youve
    got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the
    way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only
    having 1 or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

  8. Super! beaucoup de fantastique connaissances.

  9. Sweet blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a
    while but I never seem to get there! Thank you

  10. I believe everything wrote was very logical.
    However, think about this, what if you were to create a awesome title?
    I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your blog,
    but what if you added a post title that makes people desire more?
    I mean More Reasonable Hill Thinking on Net Neutrality | NetCompetition is kinda plain. You ought to look
    at Yahoo’s front page and see how they create article titles
    to get people interested. You might add a related video or a related picture or
    two to grab readers interested about what you’ve got to say.
    In my opinion, it could make your blog a little livelier.

  11. I’m not sure where you’re getting your information, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more
    or understanding more. Thanks for great information I was looking for this
    information for my mission.

  12. Having read this I thought it was really enlightening. I appreciate you taking
    the time and effort to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and leaving comments.

    But so what, it was still worth it!

  13. Marcella said

    Actually no matter if someone doesn’t know afterward its up to other people that
    they will assist, so here it takes place.

  14. Lily said

    Because different authors are really the folks who get it, it’s simple.

    Than tennis does no different activity demands so
    a lot of perspective and your intellectual quality.

    Gone would be cassette and VHS tapes’ times .

  15. yahoo said

    My family members all the time say that I am killing
    my time here at net, however I know I am getting knowledge all the time
    by reading such pleasant articles.

  16. Joann said

    What’s up, this weekend is nice in favor of me, as this occasion i am reading this impressive
    educational piece of writing here at my house.

  17. I was curious if you ever considered changing the page layout of your blog?

    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could
    connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or 2 images.
    Maybe you could space it out better?

  18. This amazing software program works on all iPhones such
    as the iPhone 3G, 3GS and the iPhone four. They don’t want to
    be connected with only on AT&T community. Don’t worry, the normal App Shop still functions.

  19. You can create photos, that could be useful for new merchandise +.
    From this place the remainder is pretty selfexplanatory. You will get the area on the hosting server-based on your own personal
    need.

  20. This is when you truly do some damage to your
    phone and that’s never a good factor to do. Faucet Frash – Flash for iOS then tap Install
    and then Verify. Now it’s important to click on “accept”, to get began with VNC
    connection.

  21. Neutralize a nonvolatile solvent with a volatile solvent and
    counteract a volatile solvent with the alkaline soap.
    I discovered it to be using a large amount of 8001003D and stability and 8001003E errors fixes.

  22. You actually make it appear so easy along with your presentation however I to find this topic
    to be actually one thing that I believe I’d by no means understand.
    It seems too complicated and extremely wide for me. I’m looking forward for your subsequent put
    up, I’ll try to get the dangle of it!

  23. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest
    but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead
    and bookmark your site to come back later on. Cheers

  24. Everything is very open with a clear clarification of the challenges.
    It was really informative. Your site is very helpful. Many thanks for sharing!

  25. It enables anybody with your quantity to send you
    an immediate chat. For those who are not as active on Fb this may seem the
    greatest annoyance ever. You have to add the tune via a internet app
    on your browser.

  26. Thank you, I have recently been searching for information about this topic for a
    long time and yours is the greatest I’ve came upon so far.

    But, what concerning the conclusion? Are you certain in regards to the source?

  27. Lashunda said

    You will also wish to ensure the business
    has technical support staff for sale in case there is an issue.

Leave a Reply

