72 House Democrats’ Letter Urges FCC “to avoid tentative conclusions which favor government regulation”

October 16, 2009

72 House Democrats wrote the FCC pushing back on the direction the FCC apparently is headed in its proposed Open Internet/net neutrality regulations to be voted on October 22nd. From the letter:

  • “… it is out strong belief that continued progress in expanding the reach and capabilities of broadband networks will require the Commission to reiterate, not repudiate its historic committment to competition, private investment, and a restrained regulatory approach.”
  • We are confident that an objective review of the facts will reveal the critical role that competition and private investment have played — and of necessity will continue to play — in building robust broadband networks that are safe, secure and open.”
  • In light of the growth and innovation in new applications that the current regime has enabled, as compared to the limited evidence demonstrating any tangible harm, we would urge you to avoid tentative conclusions which favor government regulation.”
  • “…we remain suspicious of conclusions based on slogans rather than substance and of policies that restrict and inhibit the very innovation and growth that we all seek to achieve.”
It was signed by the 72 House Democrats listed below:

72 Signers:

  1. Michael Arcuri (NY-27)
  2. Joe Baca (CA-43)
  3. John Barrow (GA-12)
  4. Sanford Bishop (GA-2)
  5. Tim Bishop (NY-1)
  6. Dan Boren (OK-2)
  7. Leonard Boswell (IA-3)
  8. Allen Boyd (FL-2)
  9. Robert Brady (PA-1)
  10. Bobby Bright (AL-2)
  11. G.K. Butterfield (NC-1)
  12. Dennis Cardoza (CA-18)
  13. Russ Carnahan (MO-3)
  14. Christopher Carney (PA-10)
  15. Travis Childers (MS-1)
  16. Donna Christensen (VI)
  17. William Lacy Clay (MO-1)
  18. Emanuel Cleaver (MO-5)
  19. Jim Costa (CA-20)
  20. Joseph Crowley (NY-7)
  21. Henry Cuellar (TX-28)
  22. Elijah Cummings (MD-7)
  23. Kathleen Dahlkemper (PA-3)
  24. Danny Davis (IL-7)
  25. Lincoln Davis (TN-4)
  26. Steve Driehaus (OH-1)
  27. Chaka Fattah (PA-2)
  28. Bill Foster (IL-14)
  29. Marcia Fudge (OH-11)
  30. Charlie Gonzalez (TX-20)
  31. Al Green (TX-9)
  32. Gene Green (TX-29)
  33. Parker Griffith (AL-5)
  34. Debbie Halvorson (IL-11)
  35. Alcee Hastings (FL-23)
  36. Baron Hill (IN-9)
  37. Tim Holden (PA-17)
  38. Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
  39. Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30)
  40. Hank Johnson (GA-4)
  41. Suzanne Kosmas (FL-24)
  42. Frank Kratovil (MD-1)
  43. Rick Larsen (WA-2)
  44. Daniel Maffei (NY-25)
  45. Michael McMahon (NY-13)
  46. Gregory Meeks (NY-6)
  47. Charlie Melancon (LA-3)
  48. Michael Michaud (ME-2)
  49. Walt Minnick (ID-1)
  50. Dennis Moore (KS-3)
  51. Glenn Nye (VA-2)
  52. Ed Pastor (AZ-4)
  53. Solomon Ortiz (TX-27)
  54. Ed Perlmutter (CO-7)
  55. Nick Rahall (WV-3)
  56. Jared Polis (CO-2)
  57. Silvestre Reyes (TX-16)
  58. Mike Ross (AR-4)
  59. Loretta Sanchez (CA-47)
  60. Kurt Schrader (OR-5)
  61. Allyson Schwartz (PA-13)
  62. David Scott (GA-13)
  63. Heath Shuler (NC-11)
  64. Albio Sires (NJ-13)
  65. Zachary Space (OH-18)
  66. John Spratt (SC-5)
  67. John Tanner (TN-8)
  68. Bennie Thompson (MS-2)
  69. Paul Tonko (NY-21)
  70. Ed Towns (NY-10)
  71. Peter Welch (VT)
  72. Charlie Wilson (OH-6)

3 Responses to “72 House Democrats’ Letter Urges FCC “to avoid tentative conclusions which favor government regulation””

  1. I’m surfing the web seeking for relevant info same in your blog. I’m impressed with the message. Thnx for the info, keep up the good work. I’ll bookmark your site so I can find for updates afterward

  2. I Like this site your article is very nice , Thanks, very interesting article, keep up it coming.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: